Agreement On The Regulation Of North Pacific Whaling

Filename: 1970-NorthPacificWhaling.EN.txt
Source: RS-VII:3633

Agreement On The Regulation Of North Pacific Whaling


The Governments of Japan, of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, and of the United States of America, being parties to the International Convention for the Regulation of Whaling, signed at Washington on December 2nd, 1946, [2] (hereafter referred to as "the Convention"):

Have agreed upon the following:

Article 1

For the purpose of this Agreement, the open season in 1971 for pelagic baleen whaling operations shall be the period from April 15 to October 15 both inclusive.

Article 2

The total catch of baleen whales authorized under the Convention to be taken in the North Pacific Ocean and dependent waters in 1971 shall be allocated among the countries of the Signatory Governments in the following manner:

(i) Fin Whales

Japan 568

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics 700

United States of America 40

(ii) Sei and Bryde's Whales combined

Japan 3,132

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics 1,527

United States of America 51

Article 3

The fin whale quota may be converted to sei and Bryde's whales combined, or vice-versa, in terms of the formula as defined in paragraph 8(b) of the Schedule to the Convention, provided that the total catch of one or the other species does not exceed the level which is 10 percent above the quota for each species as prescribed above.

Article 4

The present Agreement shall enter into force on the day upon which it is signed by the Governments referred to in the Preamble.

Article 5

The present Agreement shall be operative until December 31, 1971.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned, being duly authorized thereto by their respective Governments, have signed the present Agreement.

DONE at Tokyo the sixteenth day of December, 1970, in the English language in a single copy which shall be deposited in the archives of the Government of Japan. The Government of Japan shall transmit certified copies thereof to all other Signatory Governments.

For the Government of Japan:

T. HIRAHARA For the Government of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics: O. TROYANOVSKY For the Government of the United States of America: ARMIN H. MEYER