Protocol Concerning The Constitution Of An International Commission For The Protection Of The Mosel Against Pollution

Filename: 1961-ProtocolCommissionProtectionMosel-1956-CanalizationMosel.EN.txt

Protocol Concerning The Constitution Of An International Commission For The Protection Of The Mosel Against Pollution

Source:, downloaded 20150228

The Governments of the Federal Republic of Germany, the French Republic and the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg,

Anxious to determine the means of implementing article 55 of the Convention concerning the canalization of the Mosel, signed in Luxembourg on the 27 October 1956,

Have agreed to the following:

Article 1

The signatory Governments shall institute an International Commission for the Protection of the Mosel against Pollution.

Article 2

The Commission instituted according to article 1 of the present Protocol has as its objective establishing collaboration between the competent authorities of the three signatory Governments in order to assure the protection of the waters of the Mosel against pollution.

To this effect, the Commission may:

a)prepare and carry out all necessary research to determine the nature, importance and origin of pollutions and put the results of such research to use;

b)propose to signatory Governments measures capable of protecting the Mosel against pollution.

The Commission, furthermore, shall be empowered to deal with any other matters which the signatory Governments may, by common agreement, confide to it.

Article 3

The Commission shall be composed of delegations of signatory Governments.

Each Government may appoint at the most four delegates, including a head of delegation.

Each signatory Government may appoint experts, the Commission shall determine the conditions of their participation in its work.

Article 4

The chairmanship of the Commission shall be held for two years by the head of each national delegation in turn.

Article 5

The Commission shall meet in ordinary session once a year at the convocation of its Chairman.

Extraordinary sessions shall be convoked by the Chairman at the request of one of the signatory Governments.

The Chairman shall propose the agenda. Each delegation shall have the right to inscribe upon the agenda those points which it wishes to have considered. The agenda shall be addressed to the national delegations a month before the date of the meeting.

Article 6

Each delegation shall have one vote.

Article 7

Decisions of the Commission shall be taken by unanimity.

Article 8

The Commission may set up working groups for the study of certain subjects. Such groups shall be composed of delegates and experts appointed in conformity with the provisions of article 3 supra.

The Commission shall designate among the delegates the chairman of each working group.

Article 9

The Commission shall establish the relations which it considers as necessary with all the competent organizations in the field of water pollution.

Article 10

Each signatory Government shall bear the expenses of its representation within the Commission as well as of current analyses and research undertaken on its territory.

Expenses of common interest shall be divided among the Federal Republic of Germany, the French Republic and the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg according to formulas proposed by the Commission and adopted by the Governments.

Article 11

Disputes as to the interpretation or application of this Protocol shall be settled according to the provisions of chapter VII of the Convention of 27 October 1956 concerning the Canalization of the Mosel.

Article 12

The present Protocol will be applied to Berlin unless the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany issues in this sense a contrary declaration to the Governments of the French Republic and the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg within three months following the entry into force of the present Protocol.

Article 13

The working languages of the Commission shall be French and German.

Article 14

The present Protocol shall enter into force on the date agreed upon by the signatory Governments.

After a period of three years from its entry into force,it may be denounced at any moment with three months' notice by each of the signatory Governments.

Done in Paris, 20 December 1961, in three copies, each of which is equally authentic.