Displaying 1 - 25 of 25

Paragraphs in "Convention Creating The Niger Basin Authority" coded as SECF

Label Provision
Art.7.1 1.The Council of Ministers of the Authority hereinafter referred to as "the Council" is the organ of control of the Authority. It is made up of Ministers or their accredited representatives. Each member State shall have one vote. Each Minister may be assisted by experts.
Art.7.2 2.The Council is responsible for the monitoring of the activities of the Executive Secretariat and shall report them to the Summit. It shall prepare the meetings of the Summit and examine all the problems, deal with matters presented to it and submit the recommendations of these meetings to the Summit.
Art.7.3 3.The Council shall meet once a year in ordinary Session. The quorum shall be reached on simple majority. The recommendations and resolutions shall be adopted by consensus.
Art.7.4 4.The Current Chairman of the Council shall convene an extraordinary meeting of the Council at the request of a member State.
Art.7.5 5.The Council shall meet in the country assuming the chairmanship, or the Host Country, or in any other place designated by the Chairman of the Summit. The Chairman is elected for two years. Between Sessions, he shall represent the Council. He takes decisions according to the directives of the Summit and within the limit of the powers conferred upon him. The Chairmanship is assumed by rotation according to French alphabetical order of the names of the countries.
Art.9.1 1.The Executive Secretariat is the executive organ of the Authority.
Art.9.2 2.The Executive Secretariat is run by an Executive Secretary who is appointed, upon recommendation by the Council of Ministers, to the Summit of Heads of State and Government for a period of four (4) years, renewable only once. Each member State has the right to present a candidate for the post of Executive Secretary.
Art.9.3 3.The Executive Secretary is the Chief Executive Officer of the Authority. He is assisted by a Deputy Executive Secretary appointed by the Council of Ministers for a term of four (4) years, renewable only once. The Deputy Executive Secretary is under the authority of the Executive Secretary.
Art.9.4 4.The Executive Secretary and/or the Deputy Executive Secretary may be removed from office by the Summit on the recommendation of the Council of Ministers.
Art.9.5 5.Subject to the overriding importance of securing for the Authority the services of persons possessing the highest qualifications and technical experience due regard shall be paid, on appointing officers to the offices of the Executive Secretariat, to the desirability of maintaining an equitable distribution of appointments to such posts among member States.
Art.9.6 6.In the exercise of his duties, the Executive Secretary shall be responsible to the superior organs of the Authority. The Deputy Executive Secretary and the other officials of the Secretariat shall be responsible to the Executive Secretary.
Art.9.7 7.The Executive Secretary shall be responsible for the administration of the Authority and all its organs. For this purpose, he shall specifically:
Art.9.7.a (a) undertake such works and studies with a view to achieving the objectives of the Authority, as may be assigned to him by the Council of Ministers and formulate such proposals as may assist in the harmonious development of the Authority;
Art.9.7.b (b) negotiate loans and receive gifts on behalf of the Authority with approval by the Council of Ministers.
Art.16.1 1.The Authority as an Inter-Governmental Institution shall enjoy legal personality.
Art.16.2 2.The Authority shall have in the territory of each member State:
Art.16.2.a (a) The legal capacity required for the performance of its functions under this Convention;
Art.16.2.b (b) The power to acquire, enjoy and dispose of movable and immovable property;
Art.16.2.c (c) The right to institute legal proceedings.
Art.16.3 3.In the exercise of its legal capacity under this Article the Authority shall be represented by the Executive Secretary.
Art.16.4 4.The Executive Secretary and his Deputy shall be accorded diplomatic privileges and immunities by the member States. The other staff of the Commission shall be accorded such privileges and immunities as accorded to officials of the Organization of African Unity of equivalent status.