Protocol III to the South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty, Raratonga, 1986

*( This Protocol is not in force for the United States.>

Entered into force 21 October 1988*

Primary source citation: 24 ILM 1463 (1985) PROTOCOL 3


The Parties to this Protocol

Noting the South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty (the Treaty)

Have Agreed as follows:


Each Party undertakes not to test any nuclear explosive device anywhere within the South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone.


Each Party may, by written notification to the depositary, indicate its acceptance from the date of such notification of any alteration to its obligation under this Protocol brought about by the entry into force of an amendment to the Treaty pursuant to Article 11 of the Treaty or by the extension of the South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone pursuant to Article 12(3) of the Treaty.


This Protocol shall be open for signature by France, the People's Republic of China, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America.


This Protocol shall be subject to ratification.